What You Need To Know About Zamfara State

You are currently viewing What You Need To Know About Zamfara State
Map of Zamfara State

Zamfara State is located in the far northwestern region of Nigeria. Gusau is the state capital of Zamfara, and Bello Muhammad Matawalle is the state’s governor at the present time. Up until the year 1996, this region belonged to the state of Sokoto.

What You Need To Know About Zamfara State

A Quick Snapshot of Zamfara State

Total Land Area: 37,931 Km2
Capital: Gusau
Current Governor 2022: Bello Muhammad Matawalle
Local Government Areas: 14 LGAs: Zurmi, Maradun, Talata Mafara, Gusau, Kaura Namoda, Bungudu, Chafe, Maru, Anka, Bukkuyum, Gummi, Bakura, Birin Magaji/Kiyaw and Shinkafi.
Population: 5,307,154 (Male- 2,706,649 and Female- 2,600,506) in 2010
Vegetation: Hot Semi-arid and Tropical Savannah
Major Crops: Millet, Guinea corn, Maize, Rice, Potato, Wheat, Tomato, Groundnut, Cotton, Tobacco and Beans.
Solid Minerals: Gold, Iron-Ore, Copper, Tantalite, Manganese

The Dominants of Zamfara State

The Hausa and Fulani peoples can be found living in the densely populated region of Zamfara. The Zamfarawa can be found mostly in the territories covered by the Anka, Gummi, Bukkuyum, and Talata Mafara Local Governments. Shinkafi Local Government was populated by the Gobirawa people.

Tribes In Zamfara State

The Gobir Kingdom was the original home of the Gobirawa people. Burmawa live in Bakura, and Fulani populate Bungudu, Maradun, and Gusau in addition to being dispersed throughout the rest of the state.

In Chafe, Bungudu and Maru, most are largely Katsinawa, Garewatawa and Hadejawa. The Alawan Shehu Usmanu Fulani people can be found in Birninmagaji, whilst the Alibawa people can be found in the areas of Kaura Namoda and Zurmi.

States That Shares Boundaries With Zamfara State

It shares its northern border with the Republic of Niger, its southern border with the state of Kaduna, its eastern border with the state of Katsina, and its western border with the states of Sokoto, Kebbi, and Niger.

According to the census completed in 2006, it has a total population of 9,278,873 people and is divided into fourteen different local government areas. Most people in the state farm, which is where the nickname “Farming is our Pride” comes from.

Zamfara State Local Government Areas

  1. Zurmi
  2. Maradun
  3. Talata Mafara
  4. Gusau
  5. Kaura Namoda
  6. Bungudu
  7. Chafe
  8. Maru
  9. Anka
  10. Bukkuyum
  11. Gummi
  12. Bakura
  13. Birin Magaji/Kiyaw
  14. Shinkafi

Brief History of Zamfara State

Over the years, the people of Zamfara have fought for independence, but it wasn’t until 1996 that the military government of the late General Sani Abacha separated the 38,418-square-kilometer Zamfara State from the nearby Sokoto State. Jibril Yakubu was the first one in charge.

The area that is now the state of Zamfara was once a state, like Kano, Katsina, Gobir, Kabi, and Zazzau. People say that the first people to live in Zamfara were hunters and giants. The first place they lived was in Dutsi, which was also the first capital of Zamfara.

It goes to the bend of the River Rima in the north-west and the bend of the River Ka in the south-west. As a city-state, Zamfara Kingdom was strong from the 11th century until the 16th century. Its capital has moved from place to place, like Dutsi and Birnin Zamfara, depending on how the kingdom was doing.

In the first half of the 18th century, the Gobir Kingdom destroyed its capital, Birnin Zamfara. By the second half of the 19th century, Anka became the new capital. Zamfara had many places where people went to do business and learn, like the city of Yandoto.

After Usman dan Fodio’s jihad in 1804 it became part of the Sokoto Caliphate. In fact, Usman Danfodiyo moved to Sabon Gari, where Sarkin Zamfara Abarshi had already set up a garrison headquarters at the start of his Jihad to fight Gobir and Kabi.

After British colonialism ended, the new town of Gusau grew into an important business and government hub with roads and rails going through it. During the Gowon Administration, states were made. The Zamfara Kingdom became a part of the North West State and then the Sokoto State.

Leave a Reply

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.